The Pregonaut

A non-breeder's journey into the unknown

It’s all in the family November 1, 2009

Filed under: Little Bot,Space Suits — anditron @ 4:41 pm

Darth Vader and the Death Star I love fall and I think it’s probably part of what makes Halloween my favorite holiday of the year. I love seeing kids in costumes trick-or-treating; houses decorated with spooky lights and other decorations. Trees whose leaves have changed or shed all together. I was lucky to have one of those neighborhoods where all the kids were around the same age and all the families made the holiday spooktacular. I’d get dressed up in one costume and go around the entire subdivision, come home, get another costume on and go out again. When I was young the costumes were store bought, but as I got older and was able to start figuring things out, I started making my own costumes, and it’s been that way ever since. While the actual making time may vary, my planning time is long and well thought out. I usually start thinking about costumes in the summer, I try to find inspiration and by August I know what I’m going to do. I do think every year tends to out do the last. And this years… well, hopefully our daughter appreciates the thought.

The Death Star ready to destroy AlderaanI’m not a fan of store bought costumes. I feel like it’s a copout and pretty un-imaginative. I realize that creating an original costume can cost just as much, it’s not the cost, it’s the thought for me. Halloween is the one time of the year where everyone, but especially adults are encouraged to unleash their creativity.

My hope is that we’ll be able to instill such creativity into our daughter. As such, I had to start her off early. I couldn’t do the stereotypical Pregnant Nun or Pumpkin Halloween costume, no, I had to find something really original for our little bot’s first Halloween. And so, I give you… Darth Vader and The Death Star! Yeah, I know, I did buy the Darth Vader mask, but I thought doing that rather than me going in a ninja mask and just having her as the Death Star would be better.

 

9 Responses to “It’s all in the family”

  1. SilverLining Says:

    Best…costume…ever!

    Oh, and congrats and all that =)

  2. Joe in Seattle Says:

    For many years I’ve tols anyone who would listen that the final scene in episode four was really of an ovum being fertilized. The X-chromosome and Y-chromosome sperm-fighters were simply too obvious to miss.

    So your costume isn’t just wildly creative, it’s also true to the spirit of the original movie. I applaud you.

    • anditron Says:

      Things I hadn’t even thought about. But you’re totally right, it does all have a bit reproductive a tone to it. Hooray for happy accidental greater meanings.

  3. shanghaicowgirl Says:

    I thought that my sister dressing up as Juno was the best non-tacky preggo costume idea, but this… this? This!
    You might be lamenting your daily lose of ME!, however, you clearly can still kick it when required. Kudos.
    I went through the loss of ME! with my second during Halloween last year. I went as a very miserable dead Penny from Dr. Horrible. The only redeeming thing were the freaked out looks from people who had never seen the show and thought that I was a five month pregnant woman, with a piece of shrapnel coming out of her belly.

    • anditron Says:

      Thanks for the nod. I guess the only thing to do while pregnant is find those little moments where you can be ME and do them to the fullest. If that means going as a pregnant zombie eating the brains of her undead fetus… well, so be it. And yes, that’s a horribly disgusting image, but we did see someone dressed as that at a Zombie Pub Crawl we did a couple years ago. It was a great idea (she wasn’t actually pregnant tho).

  4. [...] years ago was pregnant. She wanted to incorporate her condition without being too traditional, so she made a Death Star costume. Or rather, her round belly was the Death Star, with small x-wing fighters attached. The rest of [...]

  5. [...] years ago was pregnant. She wanted to incorporate her condition without being too traditional, so she made a Death Star costume. Or rather, her round belly was the Death Star, with small x-wing fighters attached. The rest of [...]


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.