The Pregonaut

A non-breeder's journey into the unknown

Knock knock. October 28, 2009

Filed under: Ground Control,Little Bot — anditron @ 5:43 pm

Yesterday was perhaps one of the most exciting days of my pregnancy. Before I explain it, let me tell you a little back info.

I have an Anterior Placenta. This means that the location of the placenta within the uterus is in the front as opposed to the back which is more normal. Basically it goes, my stomach, the uterus wall, the placenta, baby as opposed to my stomach, uterus wall, baby, placenta. There’s nothing to worry about regarding it, it doesn’t cause any problems, it just means that while most women get to really feel or see their baby’s kicks and movements, especially from the outside, I don’t. It also means that I won’t have that Alien Baby gut buster thing happen to me like the average woman does.

The baby is pretty quiet to begin with, but this has made it, on some days, really difficult to feel her moving around. It’s nearly impossible to tell the difference between hiccups and movements for me, at least at this point. Most movements feel more like the flutters you should get at the very beginning of feeling your baby move. I have however, been noticing her move a little bit more as of late. And apparently the placenta can move during your pregnancy and even move to the back.

So yesterday I was sitting in a meeting and out of the blue I felt a very firm very solid pressure against my belly. I was actually startled and wondered what was going on. I put my hand on my belly where the feeling was and could feel a definite resistance. And almost a shape even. I couldn’t tell whether it was an arm or leg or even her head, but I could tell it was her and feel the difference from where she was and wasn’t. Throughout the rest of the day I was able to feel it more and more. So I started playing with her a bit. When she’d put pressure, I’d lightly push and see what she would do.

I think it’s possibly been the most magical moment I’ve had so far. Up until now, even with the ultrasound it’s just been more of a, yeah, I’m preggo feeling. But that interaction started a whole it’s wild thinking there’s an actual human in there. Someone who could, as of now, even survive should the worst of circumstances occur. I mean… it’s real. We’re having a little girl who will be here in less than 3 months. Heck, almost in 2 months.

It’s pretty incredible.

 

6 Responses to “Knock knock.”

  1. DJ Francis Says:

    Awww! This is a great post – I’m so happy to read about this.

    It’s like Aliens, except cute 😉

    • anditron Says:

      Thanks DJ! It’s all such a bizarre experience. As she moves around more the strangest part is trying to understand the feeling of something touch you from the wrong side of your skin. It’s nearly impossible to describe.

  2. Cathy Says:

    Wow! How neat!

    • anditron Says:

      It is Cathy, I can’t wait till she’s a bit bigger and hopefully things have moved around so I’m more able to tell foot from hand and such!

  3. jessmerk Says:

    Thanks for this posting. I am in the same boat as you (placenta placement, 2 1/2 months to go) with just recently having these moments of interaction with my baby boy. It’s amazing and magical.

    • anditron Says:

      Thanks for visiting. I’ve found it’s hard getting people to understand that we don’t get that extreme interaction. Anytime anyone talks to me about how she’s doing they immediately start in with the “Don’t watch Aliens anytime soon” comment. It’s not their fault, but even people who’ve had children with the normal interaction don’t understand it. From what I understand we’ll probably get to feel even more as time goes on. The placenta usually does move to the back before birth, and/or as the Amneotic fluid decreases and baby gets bigger that’s when we’ll start to really see it. Enjoy the little moments, they’re so exciting.


Leave a Reply

