The Pregonaut

A non-breeder's journey into the unknown

My Birth Plan February 10, 2010

Filed under: Space Detritus — anditron @ 5:38 pm

We are hoping to have as little medical intervention in our birth as possible. We have put together this guide to help all of us in achieving this goal and appreciate your efforts to support us in our plan.

LABOR – I’d like
• To avoid having an IV but if it becomes necessary I’d like to have a heparin or saline lock
• Please note, I have gone into cold shock from Saline Solution in the past
• To avoid using Pitocin unless absolutely necessary
• When it’s time to push, I’d like to be coached on when to push and for how long

As long as the baby and I are doing fine, I’d like:
• To have intermittent rather than continuous electronic fetal monitoring
• To be allowed to progress free of stringent time limits

If it’s available, I’d like to try:
• A Birthing pool/tub
• A Birthing ball
• A squeaky toy for my husband ☺

PAIN RELIEF
• Please don’t offer me pain medication. I’ll request it if I need it.
• If I decide I want medicinal pain relief, I’d prefer: Regional analgesia (an epidural and/or spinal block)

VAGINAL BIRTH – I’d like:
• To risk a tear rather than have an episiotomy
• My partner to help “catch” our baby if he wants

After birth – I’d like:
• My partner to cut the umbilical cord if he chooses
• Not to get routine oxytocin (Pitocin) after I deliver the placenta
• To keep my placenta to take home

C-SECTION – If I must have a c-section, I’d like:
• My partner present at all times during the operation
• The baby given to my partner as soon as she’s dried (as long as she’s in good health)
• To breastfeed my baby in the recovery room

POSTPARTUM – After delivery, I’d like:
• All newborn procedures to take place in my presence
• My partner to stay with the baby at all times if I can’t be there
• To wait for vaccines until I take my baby to her pediatrician
• To breastfeed exclusively & on demand

Please don’t offer anything to my baby beyond a pacifier

 

2 Responses to “My Birth Plan”

  1. […] Labor and Delivery at the hospital, do not go to triage. And from there she started to destroy my birth plan. I would be getting pitocin as soon as I arrived because my contractions had stalled at 8 minutes […]

  2. […] and to have 5 of those all under 1 person was pretty surprising. I handed nurse and Midwife our Birth Plan. She confirmed that I was getting pitocin but that they would start at the lowest setting. I warned […]


Leave a Reply

