The Pregonaut

A non-breeder's journey into the unknown

When Good Birth Plans Go Bad – My Delivery Experience the Conclusion February 11, 2010

Filed under: Celestial Body — anditron @ 12:25 am

P1150014Here’s the thing about Birth Plans. It’s a plan. It’s the perfect ideal of what you want to happen if you could make the world perfect. But it’s just a plan and the likelihood is, it won’t go the way you want it to, so be flexible and be okay with changes as they happen because they do happen for the best.

I told my husband back at the start of this pregnancy that if I asked for the epidural, I wanted the epidural and he didn’t need to feel like he had to protect the “Plan”. In the end, I couldn’t be happier. If I had to do it again, I’m pretty sure I’d still want the epidural. By the time I got it, I was spent. I was an absolute wreck and worn out… it had been 36 hours after all. I am thrilled I got an epidural and frankly, I wish I hadn’t been so stubborn against it in the first place. It was the best decision I’ve made since deciding to have a baby in the first place.

 

2 Responses to “When Good Birth Plans Go Bad – My Delivery Experience the Conclusion”

  1. loandbehold Says:

    I just read your whole series of blog posts about the birth. Congrats… I’m teary-eyed.

    (I posted your Offbeat Mama feature!)

    Squeeing with happiness for ya!

    • anditron Says:

      Thanks, yeah, baby making it’s quite the experience and one I wouldn’t trade for anything.

      Sorry I haven’t gotten a crafty project to you yet, I haven’t been able to get her to let me do much yet and had pop brollies to finish and get shipped. This coming week I hope to be able to tackle one.


Leave a Reply

