The Pregonaut

A non-breeder's journey into the unknown

A letter to mother May 9, 2010

Filed under: Space Detritus — anditron @ 9:21 pm

Our first family portrait - (from left to right) Finn, Siouxzi, Lorelei, Alan, Gizmo, Escher


Dear Mom,



Maybe you’re not here to see the smiles, hear the laughs or comfort the cries, at least not in that provable way that photos and video will capture for the next decade to see. But you are here, in my heart and in the way I sing my daughter to sleep at night. The way I’m teaching her to smile and love and the way I read the Lorax to her late at night. You’re here making sure we are a happy family. And especially you’re here when I sing to my daughter a song perfectly out of tune because that’s how you sang it to me.



I never knew how much you taught me until it was time for me to start teaching the lessons myself.



Thank you, I love you. You’re always here, even if I can’t hug you with my arms. I can (and do) with my heart.

 

One Response to “A letter to mother”

  1. Alex Says:

    Isn’t it funny how much we become our mothers?


Leave a Reply

