The Pregonaut

A non-breeder's journey into the unknown

My fellow cosmonauts August 18, 2010

Filed under: Cosmonauts — anditron @ 10:00 am

The pool posse.

Watch for future posts on parenting and friendships… they can be tricky with or without kids.

It’s funny that Offbeat Mama just did a post about finding fellow parents that are on your wave length. I have been experiencing a lot of changes in my world, aside from simply a baby being a significant part of it, and many of those surround friendships.

At 6 months in I have definitely felt frustrated by a lack of parent friends. We know quite a few people who have had kids recently but they live around the world and their ability to muck about online is the same as ours. There’s just not that much time (as evidenced in my continuously spotty postings) to really try to nurture an online relationship especially when those friends do have plenty of other people on their end with kids to build a little space station without us.

That’s not to say “oh woe is me”. We’ve been doing fine on our own and hey, if none of our friends have kids so be it, the Bot will just have lots of Aunts and Uncles. We figured we’d find some playmates somewhere when we were meant to.

And then we did.

We ended up at a friend’s birthday party one lovely July afternoon and of course the Bot came with us. While we were there, my friend said, “Oh, you should meet these friends of mine, they do cool stuff.” Turned out, they did do cool stuff, they were cool people, and as we talked we discovered they had a baby just 3 months older than our Bot! Enter into our lives Civ, Jen and their Bean. We chatted the rest of our time at the party, learning about each other and trading contacts deets. I left the party feeling very much like I haven’t felt since the days back when I was single and just met a cute guy that I gave my phone number to.

I was so hoping we’d end up connecting and getting together, I could only describe it as my family crush. Was it too good to be true? Was it even possible that we could find a family with all the right combinations to be our family friends? (What do you call the family you’re family is “dating” anyway?) That combination is simple, people with enough interests that you’ve stuff to talk about, a child the right age to make it fun for both, and people willing to go off and do things you’re interested in as much as you’d be interested in doing there suggestions.

Luckily, we did connect and we’ve managed a couple get togethers so far and have a few more planned. It’s a lot of fun watching the girl’s interact and no our conversations aren’t devoted to them. There is a lot that’s exciting about meeting the Tinnie’s beyond the obvious – the Bot having someone to play with – I love getting to know new people and I’m excited to introduce them to our other friends because I think they fit with my quirky group of amazing people. I enjoy knowing so many smart and creative people and maybe, just maybe, this burgeoning friendship could bring all of us some interesting, positive life changes that we can’t even begin to imagine yet.

 

2 Responses to “My fellow cosmonauts”

  1. JC Says:

    : ) Yay! Feelings are mutual!


Leave a Reply

