The Pregonaut

A non-breeder's journey into the unknown

This is halloween! November 1, 2010

Filed under: Space Detritus — anditron @ 2:48 pm

Steampunk organ grinder and her clockwork monkey.

You probably thought I’d forgotten all about bringing you along on this little journey, but no! it just so happens that October is always busy for me, between celebrating my birthday and getting Halloween stuff ready to go, then tack on the craziness that ALWAYS seems to occur at work, and well, suffice it to say, I’ve been a busy momma.

So at least to get the update done, here are our fabulous Halloween costumes. I was a steampunk organ grinder (okay accordion player) and she was my clockwork monkey. While I didn’t make everything by hand, I did make my wig and hat and I altered her costume quite a bit because what was purchased was a horrible piece of junk. For her clockwork insides, I did an iron on transfer onto muslin, sewed that on then went around it with some fancy ribbon. I also attached some castinettes to her wrists so that when she clapped, she clanged her cymbals. I had to rip open her ears and stuff them cause they were so flat. Her outfit was all held together by ties that were never going to stay tied, so I sewed on some fabric velcro to the back, the neck and the hood and that managed to keep everything on nicely. To be honest, my hat took the most work and time. I would have been done 2 weeks ago if I hadn’t made it, but I love the way it turned out. It is 100% by me, pattern, fabrication, finishing and all. I did learn to use a much higher quality buckram next time. This was only the second hat I’ve made, the first being my wedding hat. Something about fall makes me want to make and wear hats.

Well, work is still crazy busy, so I’m cutting this note short, but feel free to check out our other Halloween pictures on our Flickr. Happy all saints day!

 

Leave a Reply

